Home > Departments > Science

Science

Vision

The Science Department in Fairfield aims to nurture active, lifelong learners through a differentiated and learner-centric curriculum that develops in-depth understanding of major Science concepts and theories, as well as high-level proficiency through opportunities for advanced study.
 
We achieve this vision by inspiring Fairsians to be curious and develop an inquiring mind through authentic and engaged learning. We nurture in students logical reasoning and analytical skills to make sense of the world around them.

Science Department’s Teaching and Learning Approach

The department’s approach to the teaching and learning of Science (Fig. 1) is guided by MOE’s Science Curriculum Framework

Science Dept.jpg











 
Fig. 1 FMS(S) Science Department’s Approach to Teaching and Learning

The department adopts different approaches to nurture a vibrant community of lifelong learners. We work on the different themes and disciplines in Science while integrating values and 21 st century competencies to address the holistic development of students. We also customise, plan or select lessons, programmes and competitions that are experiential and progressive, leveraging on our partners to provide enriched learning for our students and teachers.

Department Programmes/Enrichment

The learning of Science is crafted in a progressive fashion where learning activities are learner-centric, inquiry-based and authentic:
 
1. Secondary One Interdisciplinary UbD River Studies Project 
An interdisciplinary collaboration between Humanities and Science, this project revolves around the big ideas of “Environment” and “Relationship”. It achieves learning objectives in both disciplines, such as the uses of rivers, effects of human activities on the environment, the need for conservation of our environment and the use of scientific instruments (dataloggers and sensors). Through this project, students learn to think critically, make sound decisions through logical reasoning, and communicate their findings through the use of ICT. 

2. Secondary One Community Garden project 
The Community Garden project involves all academic streams of our Secondary One students and integrates the learning from various topics from our customised Secondary One Science curriculum, in alignment to the Thematic Approach to Science. It seeks to foster an active thinking culture amongst all students. Students will appreciate that Science is not just confined to the classroom or laboratory but also to the natural world where interaction between living things and its environment are essential. At the same time, students will become socially responsible by caring for others through meaningful contribution to the local community with the products from the Community Gardens.

3. Secondary Two Enrichment 
The Secondary Two enrichment programme serves as an extension to the curriculum that students are learning in the classroom, by allowing students to see how different Science concepts and learning are integrated in authentic application of Science learning. 

4. Secondary Three Physics/Chemistry/Biology enrichment 
Students experience in depth how the Physics or Chemistry topics they have learnt in the classroom are applied in a hands-on and authentic context. They apply their scientific knowledge such as building a solar cooker in Physics, investigate the authentic applications of rate of reaction in Chemistry, or learning journeys to Lee Kong Chian Natural History Museum in Biology.

5. Secondary Three Trips for International Experience 
The Science Department collaborates with Mother Tongue and Humanities department on overseas trips. While learning about the culture of the local community and performing community service, students also experience authentic learning contexts and learn across different disciplines in Science. 

6. Science National Competitions
Fairsians who have strong inclination in Science can participate in various Science National Competitions. The Science Programme for Education of Aspiring Researchers, or SPEAR, is set up to allow Fairsians to develop a passion in science by allowing them to explore their areas of interest outside the curriculum. Students conduct different projects from a wide range of topics, and subsequently submitted their projects for competitions such as the Singapore Science and Engineering Fair.Upper secondary students talented in the various Science subjects also participate in the Biology, Chemistry and Physics Junior Olympiads.

Achievement 

2019
Singapore Science and Engineering Fair 2018 – 3 Finalists 
Singapore Junior Biology Olympiad 2019 – 2 Silvers
Singapore Junior Chemistry Olympiad 2019 – 1 Gold, 1 Silver & 1 Merit
Singapore Junior Physics Olympiad 2019 – 1 Silver, 1 Bronze & 2 Honourable Mentions

2018
Singapore Science and Engineering Fair 2018 -- 2 Bronze & 3 Junior Scientist Awards 
Singapore Young Physicists' Tournament 2018 -- Commendation Award

2017
Singapore Science and Engineering Fair 2017 -- Junior Scientist Award (Broadcom MASTERS)

2016
EMA Powering Lives Challenge 2016 -- 3rd & Consolation Prize
Singapore Science and Engineering Fair 2016 -- Commendation (Junior Scientist Category)
ASEAN Student Science Project Competition 2016 -- Team 3rd (Junior Category) 
science department 2.jpg

Name & Appointment Name & Appointment
mr ang yuan peng.jpg
Mr Ang Yuan Peng
HOD Science
ang_yuan_peng@moe.edu.sg
Mr Liew Hoe Meng Keith 
HOD ICT
keith_liew_hoe_meng@moe.edu.sg
Mr Lim Yuen Tuck
School Staff Developer
lim_yuen_tuck@moe.edu.sg
Mr Tan Chang Ci
SH Chemistry 
tan_chang_ci@moe.edu.sg

Miss Clarissa Koh.jpg Ms Koh Wei Shan Clarissa
 Year Head ( Upper Sec)
koh_wei_shan_clarissa@moe.edu.sg

Hwee-Ling-2017.jpg Mrs Lim Hwee Ling  
Teacher 
gay_hwee_ling@moe.edu.sg

Mrs Rosalind
Ho-Leong Yuet Lim
Senior Teacher
Sec 4H Form Teacher

leong_yuet_lim@moe.edu.sg
Mrs Jean Ho -
Tan Siew Ching
Sec  3A Form Teacher
jean_tan_siew_ching@moe.edu.sg
Ms Thio Lay Hong
Teacher
thio_lay_hong@moe.edu.sg
  Ms Lim Chee Chin
Sec 3D Form Teacher
lim_chee_chin@moe.edu.sg
ms aminah beevi do rahim.jpg
Ms Aminah Beevi D/O Rahim 
Sec 2G1 Form Teacher 
aminah_beevi_rahim@moe.edu.sg

Mr Tan Puok Yuee
Sec 4F Form Teacher
tan_puok_yuee@moe.edu.sg
mr kho eng kiong patrick.jpg Mr Kho Eng Kiong Patrick
AED (Science / Aesthetics)
Sec 1G Form Teacher
kho_eng_kiong@moe.edu.sg
Miss Trixie Chan.jpg Ms Chan Thing Lee Trixie
Sec 2D Form Teacher
trixie_chan_thing_lee@moe.edu.sg
Ms Karen Chin Lee Yong
Sec 4F Form Teacher
karen_chin_lee_yong@moe.edu.sg
ms wong bei shi.jpg
Mdm Wong Bei Shi
Sec 3G2 Form Teacher
wong_bei_shi@moe.edu.sg
Mr Leonard.jpg Mr Ngoei Jin Thai Leonard
Sec  3H Form Teacher
ngoei_jin_thai_leonard@moe.edu.sg 
ms ng ling yee domina.jpg Ms Ng Ling Yee Domina  
Sec 4B  Form Teacher 
ng_ling_yee_domina@moe.edu.sg
ms lim chee shan.jpg Ms Lim Chee Shan  
Sec 4D Form Teacher 
chee_shan_lim@moe.edu.sg
 ms wee lay kit jasmine.jpgMs Wee Lay Kit Jasmine  
Sec 4E Form Teacher 
lay_kit_wee@moe.edu.sg
mdm chin siew moy.jpgMrs Chin Siew Moy 
Technical Support Officer 
chin_siew_moy@moe.edu.sg