Home > About Us > School History
Fairfield was started by the faith of one lady - Miss Sophia Blackmore, a woman missionary from Australia, with a class of eight Nonya girls in a little room at Cross Street in 1888. Subsequently, the Telok Ayer Girls’ School was founded in August that year.
In 1912, when Miss Mary Olson was the Principal, the school expanded, moving to Neil Road and was named Fairfield Girls’ School, in honour of a generous donor, Mr Fairfield. After Miss Olson, Mrs Lim Bock Kee became the first Asian Principal to lead Fairfield Girls’ School in 1946. In 1958, the name of Fairfield Girls’ School was changed to Fairfield Methodist Girls’ School. When Mrs Lim retired in 1959, Miss Lim Geok Kheng, a teacher and old girl of the school, succeeded her as Principal until 1982.
1983 marked a new era in the history of Fairfield. It went co-educational with its re-location to Dover Road as two schools: Fairfield Methodist Primary and Fairfield Methodist Secondary Schools, headed by Miss Cheong Yuen Lin and Mrs Tang Poh Kim respectively. In 1995, Fairfield Methodist Secondary went single-session.
In 1996, Fairfield was amongst the first few groups of schools to gain autonomous status. Between 2001 and 2007, Fairfield continued to press forward in its mission to provide all its pupils with value-added education under the leadership of Miss Elaine Lim.
In December 2007, Mr Victor Owyong assumed school leadership, making history as the first male Principal to lead Fairfield Methodist Secondary School.
In 2009, to highlight the shared heritage of the two schools, their names were changed to Fairfield Methodist School (Primary) and Fairfield Methodist School (Secondary).
Today, we continue to stand as a school that is special, because of the staff and support we are blessed with, and because of the almighty and loving God whom we serve. His grace is evident in our school.
To God Be The Glory!